Kunsthalle zu Kiel

About the Kunsthalle

The Kunsthalle is a museum with its own collection and exhibition rooms as well as an institute of the Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu Kiel

Außenansicht der Kunsthalle zu Kiel © Kunsthalle zu Kiel Foto: Bernd Perlbach
Außenansicht der Kunsthalle zu Kiel © Kunsthalle zu Kiel Foto: Bernd Perlbach

Inaugurated in 1909, the museum is also home to the Schleswig-Holsteinischer Kunstverein and its collection. The multifunctional nature of the Kunsthalle makes it a unique institution at a special location on the Kiel Fjord. In addition to presentations of its collection, the Kunsthalle provides palpable impressions of the current art scene and constantly interacts with international art discourse with themed and solo exhibitions.

The Kunsthalle is not only enticing because of the exhibitions taking place within its walls; the museum also provides an exchange platform for all age groups. Its special painting courses and workshops introduce young guests to art in a playful way. The museum substantially contributes to the cultural highlights in Kiel by organising guided tours, concerts, and readings in its rooms.
 

After the Second World War left the museum building severely damaged, it was rebuilt in 1958. Subsequently an extension by the architect Diethelm Hoffmann was added in 1986. The extension increased the exhibition space and created enough room for the painting classes to take place, for a video studio, and for a special museum library. Since the beginning of 2012, the Kunsthalle's new lobby designed by Sunder-Plassmann architects' office has looked out over the Kiel Fjord.

Kunsthalle zu Kiel

Die Kunsthalle zu Kiel

Die Kunsthalle ist Museum mit eigener Sammlung und Ausstellungshalle sowie ein Universitätsinstitut der Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu Kiel

Außenansicht der Kunsthalle zu Kiel © Kunsthalle zu Kiel Foto: Bernd Perlbach
Außenansicht der Kunsthalle zu Kiel © Kunsthalle zu Kiel Foto: Bernd Perlbach

Das 1909 eingeweihte Haus ist zudem Sitz des 1843 gegründeten Schleswig-Holsteinischen Kunstvereins und dessen Sammlung. Diese Multifunktionalität macht die Kunsthalle zu einer einzigartigen Einrichtung in besonderer Lage an der Kieler Förde. Neben Sammlungspräsentationen vermitteln thematische und monographische Sonderausstellungen einen Blick auf die aktuelle Kunstszene und binden das Haus in den internationalen Kunstdiskurs ein.

Die Kunsthalle lockt allerdings nicht nur durch ihre Ausstellungen in ihr Haus, sondern bietet auch eine Plattform zum Austausch für alle Altersklassen. In Malkursen und Workshops werden schon die kleinen Gäste spielerisch an Kunst herangeführt. Führungen, Konzerte und Lesungen im Museum prägen das kulturelle Angebot der Stadt wesentlich mit.

Nach der schweren Zerstörung des Gebäudes im 2. Weltkrieg und dem Wiederaufbau 1958, wurde 1986 ein Erweiterungsbau von Diethelm Hoffmann geschaffen, der neben weiterer Ausstellungsfläche unter anderem die Einrichtung der Malklasse, des Videostudios und der Fachbibliothek ermöglicht hat. Ein neuer Eingangsbereich des Architekturbüros Sunder-Plassmann öffnet die Kunsthalle seit 2012 zur Kieler Förde hin.