The Collection

Painting

Painting is the basis and focus of the collection at the Kunsthalle zu Kiel

Franz Gertsch, "Saintes Maries de la Mer I", 1971, Dispersion on not grounded fifty per cent linen material, 300 x 400 cm © Franz Gertsch, Kunsthalle zu Kiel
Franz Gertsch, "Saintes Maries de la Mer I", 1971, Dispersion on not grounded fifty per cent linen material, 300 x 400 cm © Franz Gertsch, Kunsthalle zu Kiel

The early phase of the collection is marked by the civil involvement and commitment of the Schleswig-Holsteinischer Kunstverein during the latter half of the 19th century. Besides the impressive University Collection boasting especially early Dutch painting (such as, to name a few, Jan van Hemessen, Abraham Bloemaert, Hendrickter Brugghen, Adriaen van de Venne), the focus of the Kunsthalle zu Kiel Collection is on art since the late 18th century: Paintings from Denmark’s “Golden Age“ (Jens Juel, Christoffer Wilhelm Eckersberg, Johan Christian Dahl, Thomas Fearnley), Italian landscapes by Jakob Philipp Hackert, interiors by Georg Friedrich Kersting, masterpieces by Joseph Anton Koch, Karl Blechen, and Carl Spitzweg amongst others, and not to forget a history painting by Moritz von Schwind or paintings by Anselm Feuerbach.

We are continuing in this thread and have expanded the collection to include modern art under the direction of the professors of the Art History Department of Christian Albrecht University: Works of the German impressionists (Max Liebermann, Lovis Corinth, Max Slevogt, Walter Leistikow, Wilhelm Trübner, Hans Olde), of expressionism, and New Objectivity (Karl Hofer, Franz Radziwill, Alexander Kanoldt, Albert Aereboe, Gottfried Brockmann).
 

 

Since 1970, post-World War II art has been added as a focus of the collection under the guidance of the directors of the Kunsthalle zu Kiel. Art informel represented by Gerhard Hoehme, Bernhard Schultze, Hann Trier, Peter Brüning, K.O. Götz, KF Dahmen, Emil Schumacher, Emilio Vedova, Antoni Tápies, the artists' groups COBRA and SPUR, concrete art and constructivism as well as Op Art are all part of our collection, providing a broad range of art that also includes the works of pivotal contemporary artists such as Gerhard Richter, Sigmar Polke, Georg Baselitz, Markus Lüpertz, Per Kirkeby, Franz Gertsch, Imi Knoebel, Marlene Dumas, Neo Rauch, Peter Doig, Daniel Richter, or Tal R.

Contact person:
Dr. Regina Göckede
+49 431 88057-70
goeckede@kunsthalle-kiel.de

Sammlung

Malerei

Die Malerei bildet den Grundstock und Sammlungsschwerpunkt der Kunsthalle zu Kiel

Franz Gertsch, Saintes Maries de la Mer I, 1971, Dispersion auf ungrundiertem Halbleinen, 300 x 400 cm © Franz Gertsch, Kunsthalle zu Kiel
Franz Gertsch, Saintes Maries de la Mer I, 1971, Dispersion auf ungrundiertem Halbleinen, 300 x 400 cm © Franz Gertsch, Kunsthalle zu Kiel

Die Malerei bildet den Grundstock und Sammlungsschwerpunkt der Kunsthalle zu Kiel. Die Anfangsphase ist geprägt durch das bürgerliche Engagement des Schleswig-Holsteinischen Kunstvereins in der zweiten Hälfte des 19. Jahrhunderts. Neben der Universitätssammlung, in der besonders die alten Niederländer (Jan van Hemessen, Abraham Bloemaert, Hendrick ter Brugghen, Adriaen van de Venne u.a.) Beachtung verdienen, liegt der Fokus auf der Kunst seit dem späten 18. Jahrhundert: Gemälde des dänischen „Goldenen Zeitalters“ (Jens Juel, Christoffer Wilhelm Eckersberg, Johan Christian Dahl, Thomas Fearnley), italienische Landschaften von Jakob Philipp Hackert, Interieurs von Georg Friedrich Kersting, Kabinettstücke von Joseph Anton Koch, Karl Blechen, Carl Spitzweg u.a., ein Historiengemälde von Moritz von Schwind oder Gemälde von Anselm Feuerbach.

Unter der Leitung der Professoren des Kunsthistorischen Instituts wurde diese Linie weiter verfolgt und bis in die Klassische Moderne erweitert: Werke des deutschen Impressionismus (Max Liebermann, Lovis Corinth, Max Slevogt, Walter Leistikow, Wilhelm Trübner, Hans Olde), des Expressionismus und der Neuen Sachlichkeit (Karl Hofer, Franz Radziwill, Alexander Kanoldt, Albert Aereboe, Gottfried Brockmann).

Seit 1970 wurde unter den Direktoren der Kunsthalle zu Kiel die Kunst seit 1945 ein Sammlungsschwerpunkt. Werke des Informel (Gerhard Hoehme, Bernhard Schultze, Hann Trier, Peter Brüning, K.O. Götz, KF Dahmen, Emil Schumacher, Emilio Vedova, Antoni Tápies), die Gruppen COBRA und SPUR, der konkreten und konstruktiven Kunst sowie der Op Art bieten ein breites Spektrum bis zu Werken so bedeutender Zeitgenossen wie Gerhard Richter, Sigmar Polke, Georg Baselitz, Markus Lüpertz, Per Kirkeby, Franz Gertsch, Imi Knoebel, Marlene Dumas, Neo Rauch, Peter Doig, Daniel Richter oder Tal R.

 

Kontakt
Dr. Regina Göckede
+49 431 88057-70
goeckede@kunsthalle-kiel.de