The Collection

Sculpture

The Kunsthalle zu Kiel’s collection of sculptures has its roots in the foundation of the Schleswig-Holstein Kunstverein in 1843

Ernst Barlach, "Das Wiedersehen (Thomas und Christus)", Bronze after a plaster model from 1926, 47,8 x 19 x 12 cm, © Kunsthalle zu Kiel Foto: Martin Frommhagen
Ernst Barlach, "Das Wiedersehen (Thomas und Christus)", Bronze after a plaster model from 1926, 47,8 x 19 x 12 cm, © Kunsthalle zu Kiel Foto: Martin Frommhagen

The Kunsthalle zu Kiel’s collection of sculptures has its roots in the foundation of the Schleswig-Holstein Kunstverein in 1843 and is strongly influenced by the fact that the directors of the museum were, up into the 1970s, also professors at the Art History Department of Christian Albrecht University. The acquisitions during this period were predominantly small-format artworks by artists representing figurative styles. Key pieces of this time are August Rodin’s bronze bust Gustav Mahler, Wilhelm Lehmbruck’s bronze sculpture Lovers’ Heads, and a number of sculptures by Ernst Barlach. Modern non-figurative sculpture first found its way into the Kunsthalle zu Kiel’s collection after 1975 with two plaster casts by Hans Arp.

During this time the museum also systematically began to accrue a collection of contemporary three-dimensional art. The Kunsthalle zu Kiel today owns, among many others, works by Arman, Joseph Beuys, Jochen Gerz, Robert Jacobsen, Alf Lechner, François Morellet, Raffael Rheinsberg, and Dieter Roth.
 

Kazuo Katase’s sculptural installation Felsenglocke (Stone Bells) is set up in our inner court, and further outdoor sculptures can be found in the park on the south flank of the Kunsthalle, including also larger works by Per Kirkeby, Alf Lechner, Bjørn Nørgaard, and Karl Prantl.

Contact person:
Dr. Regina Göckede
+49 431 88057-70
goeckede@kunsthalle-kiel.de

Sammlung

Skulptur

Die Skulpturensammlung der Kunsthalle zu Kiel ist eng verknüpft mit der Gründung des Schleswig-Holsteinischen Kunstvereins von 1843

Ernst Barlach, Das Wiedersehen (Thomas und Christus), Bronze nach dem Gipsmodell von 1926, 47,8 x 19 x 12 cm, © Kunsthalle zu Kiel Foto: Martin Frommhagen
Ernst Barlach, Das Wiedersehen (Thomas und Christus), Bronze nach dem Gipsmodell von 1926, 47,8 x 19 x 12 cm, © Kunsthalle zu Kiel Foto: Martin Frommhagen

Die Skulpturensammlung der Kunsthalle zu Kiel ist eng verknüpft mit der Gründung des Schleswig-Holsteinischen Kunstvereins von 1843 und von der Tatsache geprägt, dass die Direktoren der Kunsthalle bis in die 70er Jahre des 20. Jahrhunderts gleichzeitig Professoren des kunsthistorischen Instituts der Christian-Albrechts-Universität waren. Die Erwerbungen dieser Zeit werden von kleinformatigen Werken figürlich arbeitender Künstler dominiert, von denen die Bronzebüste 'Gustav Mahler' von August Rodin, die Bronze 'Liebende Köpfe' von Wilhelm Lehmbruck und mehrere Arbeiten Ernst Barlachs hervorzuheben sind. Die moderne nichtfigurative Plastik fand erst nach 1975 mit zwei Gipsabgüssen von Hans Arp Einzug in die Kieler Sammlung.

In dieser Zeit beginnt auch der systematische Aufbau einer Sammlung zeitgenössischer dreidimensionaler Kunst. Die Kunsthalle zu Kiel besitzt heute u.a. Werke von Arman, Joseph Beuys, Jochen Gerz, Robert Jacobsen, Alf Lechner, François Morellet, Raffael Rheinsberg und Dieter Roth.

Die skulpturale Installation 'Felsenglocke' von Kazuo Katase befindet sich im Innenhof, weitere Außenskulpturen stehen im Park auf der Südseite der Kunsthalle, darunter größere Arbeiten von Per Kirkeby, Alf Lechner, Bjørn Nørgaard und Karl Prantl.

Kontakt
Dr. Regina Göckede
+49 431 88057-70
goeckede@kunsthalle-kiel.de