The Collection

Video

Since 1983 video art has become a key area in the Kunsthalle zu Kiel collection

Jochen Gerz, "In case we meet", 1981, Video, 18 Min., Colour, Sound, © 2011 VG Bild-Kunst, Kunsthalle zu Kiel
Jochen Gerz, "In case we meet", 1981, Video, 18 Min., Colour, Sound, © 2011 VG Bild-Kunst, Kunsthalle zu Kiel

The Kunsthalle was in fact one of the first museums in Germany to establish its own video art collection. Today it is home to the works of over 40 artists and represents their approaches in the medium. Over 100 video artworks in the collection range from the classics to contemporary video art.

The basis for the collection was established with videos by the Dutch video-art pioneer Nan Hoover. The Kunsthalle zu Kiel also owns four of her light objects and photographic prints. A further focus of the video art collection are the German classics of video art such as Klaus vom Bruch, Marcel Odenbach, Ulrike Rosenbach, and not to forget leading international artists in the medium such as the Austrian Friederike Pezold, the Korean Nam June Paik, or the Americans Garry Hill, Bruce Nauman, and Bill Viola.
 

The thematic scope of all these works ranges from reactions to and commentaries on TV and the media world, honing in on body and gender roles, through to poetical and narrative, politically motivated or documentary video productions. The videos in the collection are an integral part of our annual new presentation.

Contact person:
Dr. Annette Weisner
Phone: +49 431 88057-80
weisner@kunsthalle-kiel.de

Sammlung

Video

Videokunst ist seit 1983 ein wichtiger Sammlungsbereich der Kunsthalle zu Kiel

Damit gehört die Kunsthalle zu den ersten Museen in Deutschland, die eine Künstlervideosammlung aufbauten. Heute beherbergt sie über 40 Künstlerpositionen mit mehr als 100 Arbeiten von Klassikern der Videokunst bis hin zu zeitgenössischen Arbeiten.

Den Grundstock bilden Videos der niederländischen Videokunst-Pionierin Nan Hoover, von der die Kunsthalle zu Kiel auch vier Lichtobjekte und Fotografien besitzt. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt liegt auf deutschen Klassikern der Videokunst wie Klaus vom Bruch, Marcel Odenbach, Ulrike Rosenbach, sowie internationalen Größen wie der Österreicherin Friederike Pezold, dem Koreaner Nam June Paik oder den Amerikanern Garry Hill, Bruce Nauman und Bill Viola.

Jochen Gerz, In case we meet, 1981, Video, 18 Min., Farbe, Ton, © 2011 VG Bild-Kunst, Kunsthalle zu Kiel
Jochen Gerz, In case we meet, 1981, Video, 18 Min., Farbe, Ton, © 2011 VG Bild-Kunst, Kunsthalle zu Kiel


Thematisch reicht das Spektrum von der Auseinandersetzung mit der Fernseh- und Medienwelt über Erkundungen des Körpers und der eigenen Geschlechterrolle bis hin zu poetisch-erzählerischen, politisch motivierten oder dokumentarischen Videoproduktionen. Die Videos der Sammlung sind ein fester Bestandteil der jährlich wechselnden Sammlungspräsentationen.